Friday, May 30, 2008

Tagged, I'm it!

Oh no - I have been tagged to tell you more about myself!

OK, Roo, here we go:

What was I doing ten years ago?

June 1998. I was an “at home mum” living in East London with my then husband, son and daughter. My son had started school in January and was being bullied (head slammed into wall by another 5 year-old, concussion). I spent a lot of time doing a two-mile pushchair slog along a main arterial route (massive smelly lorries) to and from school. The rest of the time I was at various playgroups with my daughter and doing a little bit of (registered) childminding to help make ends meet. I had applied and been accepted for Primary teacher training, but the O.U. failed its OFSTED inspection and the course was closed down a few weeks before I was due to start. So in June I was viewing nurseries for my daughter, alternative schools for my son, and beginning a serious job search, because my agreement with my then husband had been that I could have two years “out” and my time was up. Sigh. My favourite outfit was a pair of red dungarees and a purple t-shirt – mine, not my daughter’s! But she did have a fab wardrobe of homemade a-line pinafores and handknitted cardis!

5 Things on my non-work to-do list today
1. Ring the central heating engineers to report a fault: switching the hot water “off” causes it to boil!

2. Buy lining paper and paintbrushes to redecorate the bathroom

3. Check my online bank account because it is almost pay day… but not quite.

4. Do the weekly shop at Lidl so that my weekend is free

5. Leave work in time to wave goodbye to the kids at the airport – they are off to London for the weekend to visit their dad.

Snacks I enjoy
A ritual Kitkat with my morning coffee – but I am not sure I enjoy this anymore, it is just a ritual. Tsk. Granny Smith apples – two a day! Hot buttered toast made from home-made bread.

Things I would do if I was a billionaire
Ensure adequate funding for medical research, outwith drug companies.
For myself: live by the sea in a house without maintenance problems with chickens, a herb and veg garden and a constant supply of yarn. And Broadband internet access.

Places I have lived
Aberdeen. Hull. Leeds. Hull. London: Hounslow West, Brixton, Walthamstow, Leyton. Aberdeenshire (ah yes, that will be the farm!)

Jobs I have had

Asda checkout, school meals accounts, employment assistant for the Careers Service, Probation Service assistant, administrator for social services (youth justice, child protection), PA in a children’s charity, waste management admin (yes, really: I paid the bin men and took calls from irate ladies whose rubbish had not been collected or who had dropped their purses into the recycling bin at Tesco's), university admin.

Who can I tag? Amber? Gabrielle? Zombiecazz?

Actually, the “ten years ago” question is quite a good one. So often in job interviews they ask you where you see yourself in ten years’ time. Never, ever, in my wildest dreams, did I see myself here, now! Wow!

2 comments:

RooKnits said...

Thanks for being tagged! I love the idea of red dungarees and a purple teeshirt. I wonder what happened to my purple dungarees.... 10 years ago I don't think I ever thought I would be back in Wolverhampton, living 5 minutes down the road from my parents, and especially not with Tony. We'd had a bit of a fling over the summer and I remember having a massive row with him in the car on the way back from V98 in Leeds about how he was "smothering me". I was horrid to him.

Susan said...

Thanks for sharing. I was tagged on this meme, too and it is a great one, for sure!